prev next

The extension of the family

Based on the success of the PMBOK Guide and the PMP exam, PMI continued expanding in the following ways:

  • Certification programs
    • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)
    • Disciplined Agile Coach (DAC)
    • Disciplined Agile Scrum Master (DASM)
    • Disciplined Agile Senior Scrum Master (DASSM)
    • Disciplined Agile Value Stream Consultant (DAVSC)
    • PMI Agile Certified Practitioner (PMI-ACP)
    • PMI Professional in Business Analysis (PMI-PBA)
    • PMI Project Management Ready
    • PMI Risk Management Professional (PMI-RMP)
    • PMI Scheduling Professional (PMI-SP)
    • Portfolio Management Professional (PfMP)
    • Program Management Professional (PgMP)
  • Fundamental standards
    • The PMI Guide to Business Analysis
    • The Standard for Earned Value Management
    • The Standard for Organizational Project Management
    • The Standard for Portfolio Management
    • The Standard for Program Management
    • The Standard for Risk Management in Portfolios, Programs, and Projects
  • Practice standards
    • Practice Standard for Project Configuration Management
    • Practice Standard for Project Estimating
    • Practice Standard for Scheduling
    • Practice Standard for Work Breakdown Structures
    • Project Manager Competency Development Framework
  • Practice guides
    • Agile Practice Guide
    • Benefits Realization Management: A Practice Guide
    • Business Analysis for Practitioners: A Practice Guide
    • Governance of Portfolios, Programs, and Projects: A Practice Guide
    • Managing Change in Organizations: A Practice Guide
    • Navigating Complexity: A Practice Guide
    • Process Groups: A Practice Guide
    • Requirements Management: A Practice Guide

Besides the PMI-ACP certification program, none of these attained any level of popularity comparable to the PMP exam and the PMBOK Guide.

Next: The nature of the PMBOK Guide